MGA Recognizes Faculty Members for Various Teaching And Service Awards

Author: News Bureau
Posted: Tuesday, April 16, 2024 12:00 AM
Category: Pressroom

Macon, GA


At the 2024 Honors Convocation, Middle Georgia State University (MGA) honored six faculty members with awards for excellence in scholarship, teaching, service, and championing culture and community.

Edwynn Wallace of the Department of Natural Sciences received the award for Excellence in Full-Time Teaching. Dr. Monica Miller of the Department of English received the Excellence in Scholarship award, while Excellence in Service went to Dr. William Gary Cole of the Department of Teacher Education and Social Work.

Rosalyn Davis received the award for Excellence in Part-Time Teaching, while Dr. Yunsuk Chae of the Department of Media, Culture, & the Arts received the Excellence in Culture and Community award.

Dr. Lorraine Dubuisson of the Department of English received the inaugural Provost’s Award for her contributions in the areas of teaching, scholarship, and service.

MGA also announced faculty nominees and one academic program for various awards presented each year by the University System of Georgia’s Board of Regents. These awards represent the highest recognition of excellence in teaching and advising in the USG.

The MGA nominees are:

  • Sabrina Wengier, associate professor of French, for the Regents’ Felton Jenkins Jr. Hall of Fame Faculty award. Wengier has already been announced as the winner of that award in the state university category.
  • Deepa Arora, senior associate provost, for Regents’ Momentum Award for Excellence in Advising and Student Success.
  • Scott Hinze, professor of psychology, for the Regents’ Scholarship of Teaching and Learning award.
  • Andy Davidson, assistant professor of English, for the Regents’ Teaching Excellence in Online Teaching award.
  • The Bachelor of Science in Information Technology for the Regents’ Teaching Excellence Award for a Department or Program.