Middle Georgia State University Partners with Fayette County Public Schools Center of Innovation to Offer Dual Enrollment Aviation Courses

Author: News Bureau
Posted: Wednesday, May 8, 2024 12:00 AM
Categories: Pressroom | School of Aviation

Eastman, GA

Plane on the tarmac at MGA's School of Aviation in Eastman, GA.

Middle Georgia State University (MGA) is partnering with Fayette County Public Schools Center of Innovation (COI) to offer aviation courses as dual enrollment options, catering to Fayette County's growing aviation community. Students enrolled in these courses will have the opportunity to complete college-level courses through the dual enrollment program. By seamlessly integrating aviation courses with core classes at the COI, students can expedite their progression into in-air flight training, potentially beginning as early as their sophomore year.

Fayette County is home to a significant number of Delta Air Lines employees, earning the reputation as Delta's housing hub. This concentration of industry professionals underscores the demand for aviation-related education and career pathways within the region. Fayette County's Career, Technical, and Agricultural Education (CTAE) Aviation track reflects the community's dedication to fostering talent in this field.

"MGA’s School of Aviation is excited to partner with Fayette County Public Schools Center of Innovation. The aviation industry plays a vital role in Georgia, and Fayette County is home to a large number of airline employees. It's a terrific partnership that will provide career opportunities for students and address essential workforce needs," stated Adon Clark, dean of Middle Georgia State University’s School of Aviation.

James Stanford, Fayette County Public Schools’ coordinator of Career and Technical Education stated, "We are happy to welcome Middle Georgia State University to the Center of Innovation as a dual enrollment provider.  The addition of the School of Aviation at the COI expands our offerings, allowing students to earn college aviation credits without leaving Fayette County."