MGA Honors President’s Scholar, Academic Recognition Day Scholar, & Other Students For Academic Achievements

Author: News Bureau
Posted: Tuesday, April 19, 2022 12:00 AM
Categories: School of Education and Behavioral Sciences | School of Aviation | School of Computing | School of Business | Students | School of Arts and Letters | School of Health and Natural Sciences | Faculty/Staff | Honors/Awards | Pressroom

Macon, GA

Rebecca Symone Caldwell, MGA's President's Scholar for the Class of 2022.

Rebecca Symone Caldwell, a senior finishing her Bachelor of Science in Early Childhood Education, is the President’s Scholar for the Middle Georgia State University (MGA) Class of 2022.

Caldwell received the award at MGA Honors Convocation, held each spring to recognize graduating seniors for academic achievements. Every year, MGA’s Student Honors, Awards, and Graduation Committee, with the approval of the University president, designates one graduating senior as the President’s Scholar. The student chosen must have an outstanding academic record, have been involved in campus and/or community service activities, and demonstrate characteristics indicating the promise of a successful future.

Caldwell is a special education teacher intern at Bleckley County Elementary School. Her plans are to begin her teaching career in Dodge County, where she lives, and pursue graduate studies.

Alexander “A.J.” Kahrmann, who is completing his Bachelor of Science in Biology, is MGA’s 2022 Academic Recognition Day Scholar. He will enroll at the Dental College of Georgia this fall.

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia recognizes one student from each of the state’s 26 public colleges and universities as Academic Recognition Day Scholar. Each student best represents the system’s highest scholastic ideals in GPA, excellence, and the ability to share knowledge. The honorees receive a resolution from the Georgia House of Representatives and a letter of commendation from the University System chancellor.

Other students who received academic achievement awards are:

School of Arts & Letters

Outstanding Academic Excellence in English: Sierra Stark Stevens

Outstanding Academic Excellence in History: Haley Kassum

Academic Excellence in Applied Arts & Design: Abigayle Katelyn Powell

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Media and Communication: Joshua Eubanks

Outstanding Excellence in Contemporary Musicianship: Stephen Esmond

Outstanding Student Award in Modern Language, A.A.: Anna Kolbie

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Interdisciplinary Studies: Patricia Horvath

Academic Excellence in Visual Art: Rachel Harrelson

School of Aviation

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Aviation Maintenance Technology, Certificate: Theresa Mathers-Phillips

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Aviation Science & Management: Lane Barrows

School of Business

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Health Services Administration: Angelina Callaway-Williams

School of Computing

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Information Technology – Cybersecurity: David Thomas

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Information Technology: Victor Fordham

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Mathematics: Tanner Dupree

School of Education & Behavioral Sciences

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Secondary Education – Mathematics: Jacob Cook

Carol Bloodworth Award: Candace Smith

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Teaching, M.A.: Daniel Scott Myers

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Early Childhood Education: Rebecca Symone Caldwell

Academic Excellence in Social Work: Matred Conaway

Academic Excellence in Political Science: Emily Tavarez

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Criminal Justice: Madalyn R. Hudson

Academic Excellence in Psychology: Sarah Istambouli

School of Health & Natural Sciences

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Biology: Mason Long

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Nursing, M.S.N.: Andrew Simmons

Academic Excellence in Nursing, ASN: Corrine Wilkinson

Outstanding Academic Excellence in RN to BSN: Lisa Perdomo

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Nursing, Pre-Licensure BSN: Rebecca Bobbitt

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Rehabilitation Science: Carson Ratley

Academic Excellence in Respiratory Therapy Entry-Level, B.S.: Hong Nhi Nguyen

Outstanding Academic Excellence in Respiratory Therapy Bridge/Completion Program: Tyler Hilton Hood

Honors Graduate Awards

Honors Discipline Curriculum Graduate: Katie Poupard

Honors Discipline Graduates: Ashley Rebecca Black, Alexander J. Kahrmann, Breanna N. Kight, Callie R. Gibson, Hanna N. Lawson, Matred Conaway, Matthew A. McDaniel, Rebecca Symone Caldwell, Scarlett L. McCurry, Sierra Stark Stevens