School of IT Creates Transfer Agreement With South Piedmont

Author: News Bureau
Posted: Monday, May 5, 2014 1:55 PM
Category: School of Information Technology

Macon, GA

South Piedmont
Middle Georgia State's School of IT recently partnered with South Piedmont Community College in Monroe. N.C., to make it easier for applied associate's degree graduates to seamlessly transfer into a bachelor's program.

Through the articulation agreement, which became official on May 1, South Piedmont graduates of associate of applied science programs in IT can begin working on their bachelor's degree in information technology through Middle Georgia State. The School of IT offers a fully online bachelor's degree, ranked the most affordable in the nation by the consumer website

Middle Georgia State and South Piedmont are members of the Southeastern Advanced Cybersecurity Education Consortium (ACE), made up of nine colleges from Florida, Georgia and the Carolinas. The consortium's work is funded by a National Science Foundation grant totaling $1,834,931 over four years. Dr. Kevin Floyd, associate professor of information technology at Middle Georgia State, is managing the work funded by the grant.

Among other things, the grant helped fund the School of IT's comprehensive digital forensics lab. Representatives of South Piedmont visited Middle Georgia State on May 1 to tour the lab and talk to IT faculty.

South Piedmont is the eighth institution to sign an articulation agreement with Middle Georgia State's School of IT. The others are:

Athens Technical College
Central Georgia Technical College
Chattahoochee Technical College
Georgia Northwestern Technical College
Georgia Piedmont Technical College
Gwinnett Technical College
Lanier Technical College

Photo: South Piedmont Community College representatives Dr. Maria Lander, front row, left, and Oscar Gonzalez, front row, middle, toured Middle Georgia State's digital forensics lab and talked with IT faculty about the new articulation agreement. Middle Georgia State faculty in the photo are, back row, left to right, Johnathan Yerby, Dr. Alex Koohang (dean), Dr. Kevin Floyd and, front row, far right, Shannon Beasley.